Taiwan relaxes visa rules for nationals of six ASEAN members and India

18th JANUARY 2017 | 
Public Opinions International

ROC visa rules for individuals from ASEAN member states Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines, and Vietnam are being relaxed starting Sept. 1. Nationals of non-ASEAN country India will also benefit.

The adjustments come following consultations between the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the National Immigration Agency, and the Tourism Bureau to further interactions with the 10 members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations. At present, nationals of Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore, and Thailand enjoy visa-free entry to Taiwan.

Passport holders from Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines, and Vietnam who hold permanent resident certificates issued by Australia, Canada, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, Schengen Agreement signatories, the United Kingdom, or the United States, or hold a visa or a resident card from one of these countries that is valid or that expired within 10 years of the date of expected arrival in Taiwan, will now be eligible to use the Online Application for R.O.C. (Taiwan) Travel Authorization Certificate (https://niaspeedy.immigration.gov.tw/nia_southeast/). Successful applicants will be issued multiple-entry visas valid for three months, allowing single stays of up to 30 days.

To expand the numbers of countries benefiting from simplified visa regulations for distinguished group tourists from Southeast and South Asian nations, the one-stop online application is being made available to eligible tourist groups from Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines, and Vietnam, plus India, from Sept. 1. Travel agencies representing tourist groups from the above-mentioned countries can file applications via https://visawebapp.boca.gov.tw/BOCA_MRVWeb/ after receiving a permit from the Tourism Bureau’s overseas offices. A 30-day single-entry eVisa will be issued to the members of groups who have passed a review.

These two measures to relax ROC visa rules for nationals of these six Southeast Asian countries and India are a follow-up to a trial program that offered 30-day visa-free treatment to nationals of Thailand and Brunei which was implemented Aug. 1. On that same day, MOFA instructed its offices in Southeast Asian countries to take measures to issue multiple-entry visas with validity of at least two years to middle-class nationals of their host countries.

These programs are expected to attract more travelers to Taiwan for short-term tourism, business, visits to relatives, and cultural exchanges. MOFA aims to further increase interactions between Taiwan and ASEAN member states, as well as India, while implementing a people-centered New Southbound Policy.


Disseminated Worldwide by;
Public Opinions International
Organisation for International Friends of Africa (OIFA)
Plot 30 Suite 5, Level 4 Green Land Tower

Opposite Bank of Uganda Kampala Road
P.o Box 35297 Kampala-Uganda
Tel: 256 701 992 426
Email:This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Web: www.pubopinions.org